Brown Hall

Study space in Brown Hall

Brown Hall

Brown Hall at night

Blaster Design Factory, a MakerSpace in Brown

Blaster Design Factory

Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor Xiaoli Zhang operates a robotic arm in her lab at Brown Hall

Brown Hall

Blaster’s Brew at Brown Hall

The Garage in Brown Hall

Machine shop at Brown Hall

Machine shop at Brown Hall

The Outlet at Brown Hall

Blaster Design Factory

George R. Brown Hall, western side

Brown Hall, Table Mtn.

Brown Hall first opened its doors in April 1981 and was named after George R. Brown ’22.

Brown Hall was built with a generous donation from this Mines alumnus. When Brown asked how he could help the mining department, he was told there was a need for a new building. Brown immediately wrote a check from the Brown Foundation for the full amount and gave it to President Guy T. McBride. Brown Hall opened in 1981 to accommodate the mining engineering and basic engineering departments and was renovated in 2011.

Brown Hall Dedication

Brown Hall Dedication

Built for mining and basic engineering, it currently houses the departments of Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Mining Engineering, as well as the College of Engineering and Computational Sciences administrative offices. Brown is also home to several makerspaces, including Blaster Design Factory, the Outlet, the Machine Shop and the Garage, and the Blaster’s Brew coffee kiosk. On the roof of Brown is a ground station, built in support of the Mines Cube Satellite program.

To learn more, please visit: cecs.mines.edu

Coffee / Snacks

Coffee / Snacks

Brown Hall

1610 Illinois Street
Golden, CO 80401

Street Address

1600 Illinois Street
Golden, CO 80401